Making Process Portfolio -reflections 

This making process was a process of trial and error. The hardest part was trying to figure out how to fit learning guitar on my own into my busy full time student part time sales associate schedule. I constantly found myself setting it on the back burner time and time again saying that I’ll get around to it when I finished my school work. But the joke was that the school work never stopped. It was a consistent flow of work day in and day out. This is when I realized that time management was key. I had to use my time as best as I could so that I wouldn’t drown in work. The next struggle that arose was my own way of processing information and learning. Maybe it could be that I’m not use to on queue studying and for extended lengths of times until im finished but my focus was not there. Here I found myself using the guitar more and more to distract myself from real work. With that being said this semester within itself has been extremely difficult. But I did discover my own learning process and what works best for me so the next step is to prefect it next semester. I am not one who can cram or study for extended hours , I’ve learned that it is best for me to do a little from time to time with intervals of things that I’d like to do. I include intervals of things that I like to do or learn about because it helps clear my mind and prepare me for the next segment of studying or work. This process of learning guitar has been tough because my focus was not there. It was consistently on my “I’ll do it later” list and never got around to being an everyday thing. What it did teach me was more about myself if anything and I think that is one of the best things I could have learned from this process. I will continue to practice guitar because I did enjoy it, if I focused more on it throughout this process I’d already be so much better than I am but c’est la vie, such is life. Life is a learning process.

Leave a comment